Ok this instalment was a little unplanned (kinda of the idea of the random part of the blog), I couldn’t sleep last night so when I did it was very late (or early) resulting in me not getting out of bed until 12:00 today – the shame i know.

Any ways, I was woken by an email coming in, from Tesco’s about a free film for me to add to my Blinkbox account – I must have been asleep when blink box came along because I had never heard of it, but naturally I was interested and so I proceed to click on the link and check out the offer.

So what is Blinkbox

Think of Blinkbox as a direct comparison to iTunes or other rental services (such as BT Vision, Sky, etc etc), for this review I’ll be comparing directly to iTunes as i think every one understands iTunes and has seen iTunes to some extent.

Like iTunes you can rent or purchase a movie – unlike iTunes the quality isn’t as good, its DVD quality, not Blu Ray (so not HD) but there is a great advantage – the film doesn’t need to be directly copied to your iPad or PC, instead your purchases / rentals stream to your device of choice saving space, in fact saving a lot of space.

There is a second advantage, and thats the price of the rental / purchase – iTunes charge up to £4.99 for a 30 day / 48hr rental for the latest movie, BlinkBox charges £3.49 for the same rental terms as iTunes (so 30 days / 48hours) so thats like for like – also if you purchase a film from Tesco’s (as in Blue Ray or DVD) and provided its listed in the BlinkBox catalogue then the film is added to your library – its akin to 2nd copy (or digital copy) but again it doesn’t take up any space on you iPad or iPhone – all you have to do is confirm your Tesco’s Club Card number when signing up (and use your club card when you make the purchase at Tesco’s)

Thats great, Tesco’s need to highlight this in there shops and a point of sales, buy your film here and get a free copy in your BlinkBox account – its great, its really great and I know I will now consider buying my blue rays from Tesco’s more then I have in the past (after all the price is about the same as other shops but I get a free copy, that takes up no space on my iPad that I can take on holiday and stream anywhere I have internet).

Heres a screen shot of how it looks:

On the down side: it requires internet connection, you if you buy a film directly from the site then you don’t have a hard copy and when I was streaming a film at home (see my review of BT Infinity) over my WiFi the screen often turned green or froze, which wasn’t great.

In summary: for me the streaming problems (over a good internet connection running at good speeds) means I will mainly keep BlinkBox as my – thanks for the free copy from Tesco’s rather then replacing buying Blue Rays or HD films and movies from iTunes but again thats not a bad thing. I recommend you check it out.

Rating: 4 out of 5 – its free to use, the selection of films appears ok, and you get free copies when you purchase a movie from Tesco.

Comments
  1. You’re really a excellent webmaster. The website loading velocity is incredible. It seems that you’re doing any distinctive trick. Also, The contents are masterpiece. you have performed a excellent task on this matter!

  2. Hi there, I enjoy reading through your post. I wanted to write a little comment to support you.|

  3. Undeniably consider that that you stated. Your favourite reason appeared to be at the internet the simplest factor to take into accout of. I say to you, I certainly get annoyed while other folks consider worries that they just don’t know about. You controlled to hit the nail upon the highest and also outlined out the whole thing without having side-effects , other people could take a signal. Will likely be again to get more. Thank you

  4. Room Humidifier…

    Right here is the perfect webpage – for anyone who really wants to understand this topic. You realize so much its almost tough to argue with you (not that I really would want to…HaHa). You certainly put a fresh spin on a topic which has been written …

Leave a comment